DIY MICROWAVE BACON COOKER

I was in need of a microwave bacon cooker, as I like using the nicely rendered bacon drippings to cook with. I looked at the wally world website and saw one that looked much like a coffee cup and saucer, so thought I’d just try it with a coffee cup , in a cereal bowl, and see what happened.

To my delight , it worked great and held about 5 ….1/2 slices of bacon, so 2.5 slices….perfect for one person.  I cooked it 3 min. for med done-ness. It would be 4 min. for crispier. Nice thing was I was able to easily save a few tablespoons of bacon drippings, which I will later use in cooking .

In addition, I then made a 2 egg omlet.: 2 eggs, dash of cream, cut up some bacon, cut up some green onions, kale, and sprouts from my tiny indoor garden. Cooked it 2 min, but 1.5 should have been enough. Ummmm yummy. 

DIY Bacon cooker

DIY Bacon cooker

Bacon cooked, drippings mostly in bottom of cup

Bacon cooked, drippings mostly in bottom of cup

Drippings stored in container in fridge

Drippings stored in container in fridge

Bacon cooked

Bacon cooked

Tastie microwave omlet

Tastie microwave omlet

Leave a Reply

